20 Minutes After Putting My Hearing Aids In, My Tinnitus Went Through the Roof...

Discussion in 'Support' started by MartinH, May 15, 2018.

1. MartinH
      Angry

MartinH Member

Tinnitus Since:
      03/2018
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Who Knows?
      Hello All,

It's been a couple weeks since I posted, actually a couple weeks since I've logged on.

My tinnitus got considerably better, there were days were it was barely noticeable but it reminded me it was there from time to time.

So today I got my hearing aids. About 20 minutes after having them on/in, my tinnitus went thru the roof. It was nice in the MD office, I didn't think it was there anymore. But it sure let me know when I was on my way out the door.

I'm scared to put them back in, I feel like I"m back at square 1 now. It hasn't been this loud for weeks. Anyone experience this?

2. JasonP
      No Mood

JasonP Member

Tinnitus Since:
      6/2006
      I wonder if it is "reactive tinnitus". I'm no expert on this subject but I think there are some on here who are familiar with it. You can read a bit about on this website under the section "reactive tinnitus". Hopefully someone else will be able to give you a good answer if this is wrong.

https://www.audiologyonline.com/articles/your-role-in-treating-tinnitus-12792

• Helpful Helpful x 1
    3. AUTHOR
      AUTHOR
      MartinH
      Angry

MartinH Member

Tinnitus Since:
      03/2018
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Who Knows?