60 Proved to be a noisy birthday!

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by MartyE, Jan 28, 2014.

1. MartyE
      Cheerful

MartyE Member

Tinnitus Since:
      1 month ago
      Nice to find so many folks here. Well, perhaps "nice" isn't the right word. Perhaps comforting? ;-)
      About the same time I turned 60, I noticed I have T. I'm a beginner, having dealt with the symptoms for only a few weeks now.
      Mine is somewhere between a loud high hiss or a scream. It's hard to tell if it's from one or both ears, sometimes it is steady, sometimes pulsating in time to my heartbeat, and also comes and goes, and is affected by head/jaw movement, etc.
      My PCP just gave me a physical, found nothing really wrong. He said he thinks it could be an imbalance in my Eustachian tubes, due to sinus trouble, then turns around and says it's common as you get older and I'll likely get used to it... in other words, he doesn't have a clue, lol! I did play trombone for several years in Jazz/Rock bands, in front of a very LOUD trumpet section. Even so, my hearing loss is mild, manly the high range in one ear.

I just started on the Lipoflavinoid. Again, one pharmacist and a guy I work with says it really works. Another Pharmacist in the same store says it's nothing more than snake oil. I'm hoping the placebo affect will at least kick in!
      To top it off, I also have a mild anxiety disorder, and needless to say, this isn't helping. I take Clonopin, which, according to which article you read can either help or cause T.....if it's on the internet, it has to be true, right? :)
      Anyway, I just wanted to introduce myself.
      BTW, did anyone else initially have mild pain in the ears, along with a hyper sensitivity to noise?
      Thanks,
      Marty

2. James
      No Mood

James Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      Pulsing 03/2013
      Marty welcome to the forum. - Oh no, not another person that's got this awful head/ear noise.