A few questions.

Discussion in 'Support' started by theekarwash, Jul 17, 2014.

1. theekarwash
      Nerdy

theekarwash Member

Tinnitus Since:
      05/2014
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Noise and/or Ear Infeciton
      Hey all, I just have a few questions I'd like to ask you all about what you think about some things regarding tinnitus.

1. What does habituation sound like? It is just like silence as you no longer hear your T?

2. Can T actually go? Not just habituate, but actually completely heal itself?

3. Why do you think it only bothers certain people? (all of us on TT I'm assuming :p)

4. How are you getting on with your T? What is/isn't working for you?

Just wanted to ask these few questions as I'm fairly new to T and I think TT is an amazing community and it's really helped myself and others included, I'm thoroughly grateful for the support on here. You guys rock.

• Like Like x 1
    2. billie48
      Sunshine

billie48 Member Benefactor Ambassador Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      03/2009
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      not sure

Welcome to the board. We are here to help newer sufferers to feel better and feel at home. In answer to your questions:
      1) Habituation to me is even when T is ringing loud, your brain does not treat it as a threat and so it is not aware of the ringing most of the time. Even at times the loud T is heard, the brain doesn't care about it, much like your brain won't even notice you are in a loud plane with the jet noise when you are deep into watching a movie.