Airline Pilot — Tinnitus from ANR/ANC (Noise-Cancelling) Headphones?

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by DITB, Dec 28, 2019.

1. DITB

DITB Member

Tinnitus Since:
      2018 (unsure)
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Not sure. I have started to suspect ANR technology ..
      I work as an airline pilot. The big tinnitus is a big no-no here, if it starts affecting your medical (hearing test). Pilots are generally tested at 500, 1000, 2000 and 3000 Hz. Hearing loss limits are 35dB except at 3000Hz, it's 50dB. If you get above that limit, you have to have a practical test to prove you can hear what you need to hear.

When using noise cancelling headphones, colleagues and friends have often asked me how it can be BETTER for your ears to introduce MORE noise. I try to explain about phasing out, how +1 + -1 = 0.

That is the THEORY anyway. Reality is a bit more complicated.

I will do what I can to protect my ears. On a train station, when an approaching train makes a loud and high pitch sound from the brakes, I am usually the (only) one who is holding my ears. I don't go to loud concerts.

But I work as a pilot. The white noise in the flight deck is very loud, and we use the supplied (Sennheiser) noise cancelling headphones. Less noise, that's great, right? During the climb, and until top of descent, we don't use headphones. On long haul flights, it becomes uncomfortable to use on-ear headphones for that long, so we take them off (company policy)

Some use foam earplugs. Some use custom molded earplugs (I did for a long time, but lost my latest pair last year). Some use noise cancelling earphones: A very popular model is the Bose QC20 - so I got one of those myself just a few weeks ago. Plugging it into the airplane, I can hear the radios just fine. Hearing my colleague(s) in the flight deck can be an issue, though, if they don't speak loud enough.