All Hell Has Broken Loose

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by McCormick29, Aug 8, 2018.

1. McCormick29

McCormick29 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      June 2018
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Fluid in ears
      Hey all,

Just wanted to introduce myself and get some support. I'm really struggling to come to terms with tinnitus that started 5 weeks ago. My name's Hayley...I'm a Nurse living in the north of Scotland.

I just gave birth to my son Isaac 9 weeks ago and everything was AWESOME!!

5 weeks ago I had a bad virus/cold which left fluid in both my ears. which caused the tinnitus.

Ever since that day I feel all hell has broken loose. I'm no longer that person I was. I live every day with this gut wrenching knot in my stomach. That my life is over because of this consuming fear I have of a sound my own body is driving me insane with!!!

Even as I write it... It seems absurd that a sound could do this to someone!! Should I not be adjusting to this 5 weeks in??

• Hug Hug x 2
    2. robHing

robHing Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Unknown
      Hi... Welcome ...
      You have come to the right place for support.
      We all have been through this T like you.
      It is normal to be panicky.
      But, eventually, you need to habituate with your T.
      I am sure that there will be more info provided to you
      by other T members.

3. Deamon22

Deamon22 Member Podcast Patron Benefactor Ambassador

Tinnitus Since:
      06/2018
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Head Trauma
      My T also startet together with a bad cold 2 months ago. 5 weeks is really short from what i‘ve read on this site.

Have you seen an ENT? Do you take any nasal spray?

4. Kelvin

Kelvin Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      June 2016
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Dental Work
      Hi Hayley,

Sorry to hear this has happened to you.
      T comes charging into your life as a massive shock.