Are There Any Remote Jobs That Don't Require Audio (Phone or Video Calls)?

Discussion in 'Support' started by Ava Lugo, Aug 3, 2022.

1. Ava Lugo
      Irritated

Ava Lugo Member

Tinnitus Since:
      10/2019
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Virus
      I work as a bagger at a grocery store. It's been very very stressful because of severe reactive tinnitus. Where we collect all the carts in the parking lot, I have my hearing aid turned off almost every time. I have to go out there for 30 minutes which is 3 or 4 times a day. I was able to keep this job for 2 years with this bad tinnitus by turning off my hearing aid, otherwise I wouldn't be able to do it since the tinnitus reacts badly.

I'm getting a new hearing aid soon and I don't want to wear it out fast by turning it off 3 or 5 times a day at work when i go outside.

I'm wondering if you know of any remote jobs from home I could do that don't require audio at all, like no phone or video calls?

I have no degree. I only worked retail jobs. I tried looking online but it seems a lot of work from home jobs do require video chat, even if no phone is required, so I'm not sure. I'm also severely hearing impaired so talking on the phone has always been an issue but with reactive tinnitus I don't think I'd be able to concentrate with any audio.

Anybody know of a job where I can work from home without talking on phone and video chat?

• Good Question Good Question x 1
    2. Bill_
      Balanced

Bill_ Member

Tinnitus Since:
      04/1998
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      1. loud Concert | 2. loud club | 3. tympanometry
      The bad news is that you will probably have to learn some new skills.

The good news is that there are many different types of remote jobs that you can do. You just need to find the one that suits you.

Some ideas:

- Learn coding (probably the hardest on this list but you’ll be able to earn a LOT of money). Good start is Python.
      - Start an e-commerce business (maybe dropshipping).