Brand New — Hope This Isn't Permanent

Discussion in 'Support' started by Rewire, Apr 17, 2018.

1. Rewire

Rewire Member

Tinnitus Since:
      4/2018
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Unknown
      Hello everyone,

I found this page through google.

I think I have gotten Tinnitus and I'm not sure exactly the cause. I have been wearing earplugs for a few years to help me sleep because my wife snores very loudly and I can't get to sleep with it. About 6 days ago I woke up with a sharp pain in my right ear, and ever since then there has been a constant "bzzz" like a high pitched hertz noise in the middle of my head. It won't go away and it's driving me nuts. I stopped using my earplugs since and I feel like I'm going absolutely wacko because it's annoying me beyond belief. I have tried using music to drown it out but it never goes away. Thankfully I work from home but it's making me extremely irritable and I can't seem to just ignore it.

I've tried Flonase for a few days, and I have been trying to rinse my ears out with salt water in case it's earwax impaction or something. I'm desperate at this point.

Is it an infection? Did I somehow damage my ear? Am I going to have to deal with this for the rest of my life? What's the deal?

I've made an appointment with an ENT and they want to send me to an audiologist first, but I was told when I was making the appointment over the phone that because "ringing in the ears" wasn't serious that I wasn't made a priority. My appointment isn't until May 3rd just to see the audiologist!

Is there any hope for this to go away from what it's come from? I feel like being deaf would be better than dealing with this ringing for all time.

• Hug Hug x 1
    2. Jiri
      No Mood

Jiri Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      11/2017
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      noise + injury
      Hi @Rewire