Burning Nerve Pain Near Cheek at Any Sound

Discussion in 'Support' started by florian_89, Apr 18, 2018.

1. florian_89
      Bugridden

florian_89 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      04/2015
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Music Speaker got me Hyperacusis, only very slight Tinnitus
      Hi all,

I want to describe my problem, which is sound related and called hyperacusis, but the form of it is very weird.

Ok lets start...

3 years ago I had an acoustic shock on my left ear.
      I was a hobby music producer back then.
      I was sitting a too long in front of speakers and was listening to a higher frequency song too long.
      Suddenly my left ear was cramping, it was like a sting.
      Since then the left side near the ear feels cramped. Like tightened .

Every time when I hear a sound my left side of the face, underneath the cheek starts to cramp. Its like electric impulses goes through it. There is this connection between sound and cramp.
      My tongue also cramps to the left side sometimes.
      It feels like a burning.

The thing is the ear does not hurt itself. It guess it just sends out this signals to cramp, like it doesn't want my hearing to get worse.

When I drink a few beers, the connection between sound and muscle or nerve cramp (???) is not there anymore. And I feel better. But usually I feel very odd and not good, because of the all day cramping feeling.

Last week ago I found out, that when I open the mouth about a 1 cm the connection between sound and cramp does also not exist.

I tried to open the mouth about 10 hours by biting on a piece of cotton, to see if the ear starts to hurt, when I have a normal day with sound.

So after this 10 hours I closed the mouth and the cramps where not really noticeable and my ear did not hurt.

When I closed the mouth, the cramp started again.

Does anybody have something similar? Or any idea what I should do?

Thank you for reading anyway.

Greetings Florian

Last edited: Apr 18, 2018
      • Hug Hug x 1