Can Balloon Popping Cause Hearing Damage?

Discussion in 'Support' started by missingsilence, Mar 22, 2019.

1. missingsilence
      Depressed

missingsilence Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      09/2015
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Who am I kidding, its got to be noise :/
      Oh boy, I’ll cut right to the chase.

I was walking on the street when around 5 to 10 meters behind me a couple kids started popping McDonalds balloons. In total it was 7 or 8 pops.

My hands were full so I started walking faster. I had some silicon earplugs in at the time, Alpine party plugs (SNR19).

I’ve seen that balloons can be over 160dB at their loudest.

Could this cause hearing damage? I know it sounds ridiculous but balloons are no joke when it comes to volume.

• Hug Hug x 1
    2. Michael B
      Supportive

Michael B Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Earbuds
      I'm no expert but the fact that you were outdoors and wearing earplugs tells me you're probably OK.

• Agree Agree x 1
    3. Bill Bauer
      No Mood

Bill Bauer Member Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      February, 2017
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Acoustic Trauma
      Balloons are especially dangerous when they pop in closed spaces right by the ear (e.g., a car).

Since you were 5 meters away, you were outside, and you had earplugs in, the likelihood that you will get a permanent T spike as a result of this exposure seems to be low.

• Agree Agree x 2
    4. Bill Bauer
      No Mood

Bill Bauer Member Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      February, 2017
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Acoustic Trauma
      It doesn't. I remember reading about at least three people who got permanent spikes after being exposed to popping balloons. But their circumstances were different from your circumstances (e.g., one was in a car when it happened).

5. Allan1967

Allan1967 Member Benefactor Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Ear infection