Do Nightmares End? A Dog Yelped Into My Ear Resulting in Tinnitus & Hyperacusis

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by farflungstar, Feb 26, 2020.

1. farflungstar

farflungstar Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Noise exposure
      I'm a 56 overworked, stressed out guy whose coming to the end of the road. 5 years ago one of my dogs yelped into my ear resulting in tinnitus and hyperacusis. I was told I could do nothing. Like everyone I researched everything and I took everything, Gabapentin, Tegretol (killed the tinnitus)e tc, but nothing helped the hyperacusis... I wore earplugs in class (I'm a teacher) and in the street. Gradually I weaned myself off the meds and for a whole year I lived without plugs.

Until 2 months ago at a vets visit when a dog wouldn't stop yelping at the exact frequency I cannot tolerate. There was no escape. My hyperacusis went crazy, in both ears. The next day the same happened at a cafe. And then one of my dogs. I basically ended up breaking down in the street, overwhelmed. I've become so negative towards anything that can make noise. I hate people, I won't go near my dogs. I wont answer the phone. I dare not subject myself to hearing tests because I'm terrified of noise in my ears. I have had and still have building works next to my house and 70 dB drills going in and out of my walls every day between 8am and 8pm. It's a nightmare. I can't escape.

I started on Baclofen and Campral. I emailed about the Moses-Lang CD twice but no reply. Today, to cap it all I decided to try and lower the volume of my door intercom. Stupid, stupid. I didn't realise the buzzer was in the handset and as I spoke to a student she pressed the buzzer - oh my god... 10 mins my ear felt like it had shut down and although it's OK now the hyperacusis is so bad. I feel like I'm cursed. I immediately took. NAC, Magnesium, and 50mg or Prednisone and will continue it.