Ear Reacts in Like a Broken Speaker to Certain Loud Noises / Pitches / Frequencies

Discussion in 'Support' started by BenjaminLondon, Oct 8, 2019.

1. BenjaminLondon

BenjaminLondon Member

Tinnitus Since:
      December 2018
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Ear infection
      Hi,

Thanks for reading my post.

I've had tinnitus in my left ear for about 10 months now and I'm still learning how to habituate with it. I have good days and bad days and good months and bad months.

I got a cold about 10 days ago and the cold is just now subsiding, but as a result it blocked my ears as colds usually do and its made my tinnitus turn from 10 months of finding peace with it to unbearable and annoying again.

There is one thing that I just cannot put my finger on and cant seem to find the answer anywhere, so I will try and explain here and maybe someone can relate or help explain what is happening.

Basically when there is a loud noise, or a noise of a certain pitch or frequency my ear reacts in like a sort of broken speaker. For instance, if someone raises their voice, my ear will distort that sound and it becomes like white noise. This also happens with things like hand dryers, or if you were to clap your hands... there are many things that trigger it. It also sounds a bit like a whooshing sound which I figure can be related to pulsatile tinnitus, but this whooshing sound is not from hearing my heartbeat... it's so very difficult to explain as I'm sure many of you can relate.

Does anyone else get this?
      Does your tinnitus spike when you have a cold and settle back when the cold has passed?

I'm still learning about how to deal with all these things, and I have mastoid surgery coming up in about a month's time, this is because of a problem in my middle ear caused by infection, and in turn caused my tinnitus.

Any help/suggestions/light you can throw my way would be appreciated.

Thanks
      Ben

• Hug Hug x 2
    2. Digital Doc

Digital Doc Member

Tinnitus Since: