Going to Concerts with Tinnitus?

Discussion in 'Support' started by birt, Jun 21, 2013.

1. birt

birt Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Going to concerts with Tinnitus?

Hi. Yesterday by a fluke I won two concert tickets to see Paul McCartney live. Concert is in a week in a Stadium. At first I was super excited that I actually won something and of such an artist. Then I realized, 'Oh yeah, I forgot I've got Tinnitus. Knowing concerts I'm sure it will be pretty much to very loud!

I'm a musician and it's already hampered a lot of what I was doing and the plans I had. I was diagnosed also with Lyme Disease and I wonder how much that has played into the Tinnitus and sensitivity to things over 100db.

Anyways, now I don't know what to do with these tickets. I've looked for hearing protection but are there really any ear plugs that can protect you from the noise levels of a large venue concert? Of course I looked into the in-ear molded plugs but they can't be made soon enough before the concert. I'd sure hate to give away these tickets...but.:(

Anybody else give tips on earplugs that really do block out besides the usual 15-20 dB or so?

2. Sven
      Fine

Sven Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      06/1999
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Loud music
      If you really want to go and are afraid of the loud volume, I'd recommend double protection. You can always wear regular earplugs (unless you have custom made ones (those are great, btw)) and for example a pair of Peltor hearing protectors (I'm not sure of the word in English) over those.

3. Mr Registered User

Mr Registered User Member

Tinnitus Since:
      04/2012
      I've read the following, and I reckon it's true: 'volume' is one thing, but pounding from low frequencies (obviously bass and drums) can vibrate through the skull, straight into the inner ear. So, plugs can protect from the lo-mids, mids and highs, but not always the lows.