Greetings! 23-Year-Old, Tinnitus for One Week, Possibly from Loud Sounds Through Headphones

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Janni97, Mar 28, 2020.

1. Janni97

Janni97 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      03/2020
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Loud sounds through headphones.
      Hello everyone. I am new to this forum. I started getting tinnitus in my right ear including some slight hearing loss just about one week ago. I don't know exactly what triggered it, but I suppose my habit of listening to music & watching videos online with my headphones on has ended up damaging my hearing :/

I have been lucky though, it's not a very loud sound (high pitched, but faint) however I can still hear it at all times unless I mask it with other sounds from my headphones.

I am new to this experience, I'm not sure how to handle this. I hope I can make it better by not listening to any loud sounds anymore, but I fear it is too late.

I am 23 years old, and I am a little discouraged by my tinnitus. I hope to live a long life and having to cope with the fact that I might have bad hearing and tinnitus in my right ear forever is hard to accept.

Wishing you all a very nice day and thanks for reading my introduction :)

• Hug Hug x 2
    2. Sevv

Sevv Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Loud concert
      Hey there and welcome.

Since your tinnitus is probably noise induced, you will first want to avoid all noise sources that can make it worse. This ensures that you still have a good chance that it will fade on its own (over the next months, maybe up to two years).