Greetings from Iowa

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Will88, Jan 5, 2018.

1. Will88
      Frustrated

Will88 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      01/1995
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Meniere's / Noise Exposure combination
      Hello, all. I am a 47 year old male veteran with Meniere's syndrome, severe bilateral tinnitus, and tensor tympani syndrome. I initially noticed a slight ringing in the ears back in 1995, which has progressed to a near debilitating state, as of today.

I am currently a senior manager for my company, where I used to approach each day with enthusiasm and drive; now I find myself struggling to make it through each day, primarily due to the deafening high-frequency warbling tinnitus I experience, combined with periods of dizziness and fullness in my ears which results in a 90% near-deaf experience for an hour or two at a time.

At times, my condition gets the best of me and I become overwhelmed, like a claustrophobic experience. Episodes of tensor tympani syndrome can best be described as a hyper-sensitivity to certain sounds (such as keyboard typing; high pitch speech) which causes an actual "thumping" response in the ear, at times a spastic pulsing which can best be described as being similar to having a moth trapped and trying to escape from my inner ear.

My overall hearing is degrading rapidly; I was fitted with hearing aids by the Veterans Administration back in 2013. I've had to have them adjusted twice since that time to compensate for my hearing degradation, which continues to get worse. At this rate, I'm fairly confident that I will likely be near/totally deaf by the time I am 50.