Have to Fly for the First Time Since Developing Tinnitus

Discussion in 'Support' started by Scottrock, Dec 21, 2016.

1. Scottrock
      Fine

Scottrock Member

Tinnitus Since:
      2 weeks
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Possibly ear infection or loud music
      Hi, Brett's my name. I am new to the suffering that tinnitus provides us. And suffering I am, having slid into a depression in that short time. I am travelling (flying)tomorrow. Just wondered if anyone had any advise on how the flight might affect the T, and what precautions I should take, if any. Thanks

2. nj78

nj78 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      11/2016
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Asymmetric hearing loss
      I have never done it before, but I heard you should take some decongestant (like Sudafed) to aid pressure equalization in your ears. And avoid flying with a bad cold.

3. marqualler
      Nerdy

marqualler Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      10/2014
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Ear infection / Mild Noise Induced Hearing Loss
      I flew with tinnitus for the first time this past summer. I had no issues whatsoever with the tinnitus and used Earplanes for the flights which made equalizing the pressure in my ears much easier than any flight I've ever experienced (pre- and post-tinnitus I've always had ear equalizing problems on flights). I also take a daily antihistimene which generally keeps my sinuses pretty clear and a neti pot when needed. Agreed that avoiding flying with a bad cold is a good idea. All in all though you should be fine. Best of luck to you!

• Like Like x 1
    4. nj78

nj78 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      11/2016
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Asymmetric hearing loss
    5. AUTHOR
      AUTHOR
      Scottrock
      Fine

Scottrock Member

Tinnitus Since:
      2 weeks
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Thank you both. The earplanes sound like they are worth a try.

6. Bobby B
      Fine

Bobby B Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      11/2015
      Cause of Tinnitus: