Hello All, Newbie Here

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Jonstorm, Aug 5, 2018.

1. Jonstorm

Jonstorm Member

Tinnitus Since:
      July 2018
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      ?anxiety ?dental work
      Hi all, I have found reading that Im not alone struggling with this nasty symptom a morsel of comfort in the past week.
      I wondered if anyone else has had a similar experience and can offer their advice for my particular circumstances.

Im 32 years old, a GP (doctor in UK) and have been in generally good health albeit with occasional anxious tendencies over the years (but I did believe I had a good handle on this nowadays).

I have had intermittent tinnitus at night before that I have been able to ignore by diverting my attention elsewhere and then forgetting about it. However, randomly a week ago I woke up in the middle of the night with a terrible anxious feeling and that high pitched tinnitus sound that I have heard before. It was much louder than previously and I was immediately perturbed. The first few days I wasn't really noticing it in the day and I was quite calm and not thinking about it. However, for the last 4 days or so I have been continually thinking about it, thus making it louder and have entered the full panic/ fight or flight response that we all know is what we are meant to avoid.
      Im not sleeping well- usually sleeping for an hour before waking up and getting max 5-6 hours a night in very broken stages. This disturbed sleep then feeds into the next day making me feel worse.
      I cant help feel annoyed with myself like I have done this to myself. I feel like ive tuned into mild tinnitus and amplified it up so that its present 24/7.
      I went to an audiologist yesterday and she said my hearing test score was perfect- which I found surprising as some tones I was struggling to hear past the tinnitus.
      My ears look healthy with no wax etc.