Hello! Glad to Find This Support Forum!

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by yamashinaku, Mar 29, 2016.

1. yamashinaku

yamashinaku Member

Tinnitus Since:
      12/2014
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Concussion and CSR headphones
      I am an English teacher and I developed tinnitus after a concussion. The ringing had subsided quite a bit until recently when I returned to the USA from Japan and took a Customer Service Rep job. I have to wear a headset covering one ear, and today was the worst. I left the centre and my ear felt stopped up and the tinnitus was as bad as ever. I want to quit the job, but will have to find a new one first. Tomorrow I will try to stuff some tissue in my ear when wearing the headset, hoping that I can still hear the customer. Having the tinnitus come back so strong after being mild for so long is really scary. Any thoughts? Thank you!

2. Bobby B
      Fine

Bobby B Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      11/2015
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Large caliber rifles&machine guns, +30 years of loud clubs
      The issue with headsets is that you need to crank up the volume as its noisy around
      The solution : wear really good earplugs like the foam macks plugs deep into the ear canal - both ears - and then crank up the volume of the head set until you can barely hear enough
      Your ears will not hear the ambient sound and you will get only the least amount of sound from the headset required for you conversation- which will be almost the same as using it at super low volume in a total quiet room .

• Like Like x 1
    3. Bobby B
      Fine

Bobby B Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      11/2015
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Large caliber rifles&machine guns, +30 years of loud clubs
      Also - foam plugs will cut the damaging high frequencies much better which is another issue with phones vs direct human voice

• Like Like x 1
    4. Alue
      No Mood

Alue Member Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      01/2016