Hello, Here's My Contribution

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Simon 852, Feb 21, 2014.

1. Simon 852

Simon 852 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      11/2008
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Music, performing rock gigs, sinus infections
      Hi. I'm a musician and performer, lead guitarist in Dirty DC (AC/DC tribute show) touring past 15 years (ouch), have also written and recorded symphonic rock, plus soundscape and nature/relaxation music which may in hindsight have been a better career path than the rock guitar path I have followed on and off for 30 years. Now major payback time with chronic tinnitus, and hyperacusis, considering leaving the music business altogether due to the severity of my symptoms. Looking for help, advice, and support at a very difficult time.

I have tinnitus in both ears, including white noise, high pitched tones, low pulsating tone etc. Pulsatile in left (heartbeat, chewing, footsteps etc) My voice echoes round my skull and I have stopped speaking when possible, and sounds 'hurt' my ears, even 'normal' sounds can send shockwaves through me, I have hearing loss in left ear (very disturbing). History of sinus problems may be related to this horrible symptom of 'voice in head'. My two young girls' voices hurt me at certain frequencies and I've stopped wanting to play the piano with them so much, it's changing my life completely and I feel pretty desperate. Sometimes music goes out of tune for me, like a horrible 'hurdy-gurdy' type effect, it's awful! Help! Doing the usual doctors/ENT route, as I see most people do.