Hello! My Tinnitus Started One Random Afternoon for Unknown Reasons

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Lorna Donovan, Jan 28, 2018.

1. Lorna Donovan

Lorna Donovan Member

Tinnitus Since:
      08/2017
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Unknown
      Hi everyone, this is my first time on here. I have been reading up on tinnitus since it all started with me back in August last year and it seems to be such a complex minefield as to why people get this.

Mine started one random afternoon. My thoughts were I can hear morse code. It was coming from my left ear! I was so frightened when I realised it was in me and after a few days of it and sleepless nights I booked to see my GP, he thought he could see fluid but said it wasn’t much but prescribed antibiotics. I took them and it did start to get better and subside getting fainter and less attacks of it. Well of course I thought great job done, bye bye to it ..... a couple of weeks later it was back with avengence! I took another trip to docs who looked and said all looked normal now which I thought was strange. After several trips back and fourth to my very nice but baffled GP I urged him to refer me to ENT, I waited quite a few weeks for appointment in this time ear was bad then better , then bad then better and so on. Appointment day arrives my ear felt fine (typical) but nevertheless I knew it would return. During the appointment they carried out various tests including hearing and checking the Eustachian tubes. All tests seemed fine. After the tests he called me in and said all looked fine but that they would refer me for MRI scan as it was one ear. After a tense few weeks since before Christmas I have had the scan and the results have just come back clear. He said I have to live with it.