Hi Everyone

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by andi73, Dec 20, 2014.

1. andi73

andi73 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      26/11/2014
      Hi there, I am a new member, but not a stranger to tinnitus. What is different this time is the duration of my ringing.

The first time i got it was 17 when I experienced some hearing loss in my left ear at a disco. The tinnitus lasted about a week while fading.

I have experienced tinnitus off and on, all through my 20s and 30s, as I am a musician. It never lasted more than a few days, with a softening of the condition very obvious especially on the last day. over the past year I decided to use ear plugs, silicon when I was playing music. The last gig I did without them was 3 weeks ago, and the ringing decided to stay this time. I am upset that having taken the precautions I got this thing the one time I didnt take them with me to the gig. (yes I am a musician).

This afternoon I was thinking about how to get used to it. It is not a very pleasant thought, although I am not panicking about it, it is unnerving me. High pitched and in both ears. There still is a chance that I will get some improvement in the volume, I would even accept that I will have to put up with a degree of the high pitched noise. I would like to think that it will come down a bit in volume. It is noticeable even when watching tv, although not as bad as it is when alone in bed or in the car etc.

Thanks in advance for advice, I look forward to some support.

2. attheedgeofscience
      No Mood

attheedgeofscience Member Podcast Patron Mighty Benefactor Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      Resolved since 2016
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Unknown (medication, head injury)
      Given your recent onset, and depending on your location, you could consider enrolling in AM-101.

(http://www.tinnitus-study.info/)

3. AUTHOR
      AUTHOR
      andi73

andi73 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      26/11/2014