Hi. I Am 14 and I Am New to Tinnitus. I Really Need to Know What Is Happening?

Elijah Nash

Author
Oct 31, 2014
Tinnitus Since
10/2014
Just 3 days ago, I started have a ringing in my ear and so I searched it up and found it was tinnitus. After that day, I observe more and my ear still ringing. So, I went to the doctor and he said I have subjective tinnitus and that it was going to go down in a week or so. And , I am going to have people do some lab reports on my thyroid tomorrow. I am very anxious person(I have anxiety,panic disorder) and I kind of get a lack of sleep.
So, does anybody know if I am going to stick with this forever. And, I don't really listen to loud music nor go to concerts. Can anybody help me?

Absolutelly the best thing you can do now is leave all the T forums, find fun things to do that will take your mind off from tinnitus and enjoy your life. You DO NOT want to 'teach your mind' to be aware ot T...

I am very anxious person(I have anxiety,panic disorder) and I kind of get a lack of sleep. So, does anybody know if I am going to stick with this forever. And, I don't really listen to loud music nor go to concerts. Can anybody help me?

Based on your "medical history" ie. anxiety, I am wondering if you have been on any drugs for a certain period of time. There are drugs out there which can cause tinnitus as a consequence of the drugs themselves - or as a consequence of wrong tapering.

And , I am going to have people do some lab reports on my thyroid tomorrow.

Checking the thyroid is the "last item" on the list of possible causes - but is of course worthwhile doing, but still... seems like your doc is "shooting from the hip"; see answer above.

So, I went to the doctor and he said I have subjective tinnitus and that it was going to go down in a week or so.

No one can say whether tinnitus will go away or not. It depends entirely on the etiology. And until that has been established, it's a best guess.