How Can Tinnitus Become So Loud?

Discussion in 'Support' started by hans01, Jan 18, 2018.

1. hans01
      Artistic

hans01 Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Stress, hearing loss, sinus infections, ... ?
      Hello, I have been reading and posting here since a while, this forum is really great.

I have had tinnitus since 17 years now and last two years things became out of hand. I'm a musician and have always had IBS issues, chronic sinus infections, but also too much stress from work and also anxiety since I was young. I had a few very traumatic events in my life and have done everything to handle that, but this tinnitus is making things difficult.

I have several T sounds, some are only audible at night, but my oldest T which is a high pitched T (9500Hz) is very very loud (~9/10 most of the time, and can only be masked by going to a rock concert, I can hear it everywhere even in loud places and small concerts. I managed to calm it down at a few times, but I really wonder why T can become so loud ?

It's really hard to live with this condition, I don't know how I managed to do for such a long time and why suddenly since two years it's harder to cope with, but then I have gone through a burnout from overwork two years ago without really stopping working (I'm a freelance worker and most of our family income depends on me) and on top of it have sleep apneas for which I'll have a second surgery end this month, so sleep has been a major issue since more then ten years.

I tried everything, tons of supplements, and some did work at some degree, but the high pitch keeps making my life difficult, I have 3 children and have the impression that this condition is destroying a part of my life, which has already been very hard so far and sad enough I had to stop doing concerts which was my biggest passion.

A few people suggested to me to test hearing aids, which seems helps a lot with the high pitch T's, but what would you suggest?