I Know, But I Want to Know...

Discussion in 'Support' started by JurgenG, Jan 10, 2017.

1. JurgenG
      Approved

JurgenG Member Benefactor Advocate

Tinnitus Since:
      12/2016
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Loud noise exposure / headphone accident maybe?
      How are my chances I will get out?

Long story: https://www.tinnitustalk.com/threads/so-will-i-recover.19497/

Short story:
      I am a camera operator and I had those big pilot headphones, I plugged them in and heard this electrical really loud buzz.
      I threw them off my head, in a matter of seconds.
      Didn't notice anything that day, then the next morning I woke up I noticed the ringling and tinteling in my ears.

So when I noticed it, I went to a GP a couple days later, he said your eardrums seem fine, might have had a small rip, not sure. But visit an ENT if you are not over it in a couple of weeks. And stay out of loud noises as much as possible.
      Mind you, I still thought I was overreacting back than. A week later I went to a NYE dance party, I did bring my earplugs, which I plugged in from time to time(really hard to talk with them). And it wasn't extremely loud.

In hindsight I shouldn't have gone, but I felt like I shouldn't overreact and the damage I had was probably already recovered, since I gave it a week rest. And hoped T was a fragment of my imagination.

So that evening I went to bed, and I heard a spiked T, which one could have from a party I figured.
      The spike settled quickly, but the hiss and buzz didn't.

I figure the buzz is the same as before the party, at least I hope..

Couple of days later I went to an ENT, he subscribed Metrol and said there is a good chance on recovery. But this time, really stay out of the noise. (I won't be going to anything noisy the next year, that's for sure.)

The last days I feel like it's going up and down, can this be the sign of recovery? Or is it wishfull thinking.