I'd Like to Say It's Nice to Meet You, But...

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Jessikweh, Apr 19, 2015.

1. Jessikweh
      Studious

Jessikweh Member

Tinnitus Since:
      01/2013
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Unknown. Misdiagnosed as Meniere's Disease.
      While it is nice to meet everyone, it also means you're probably in a similar situation to myself, & that isn't fun!
      I just joined the site today.

My name is Jess. I'm a 21-year-old student living in Australia. In 2013, I was diagnosed with Meniere's Disease. The vertigo, headaches, mood swings, nausea have all become manageable. However, the tinnitus has not. It's been two years & I have not learned to deal with it in the slightest. & each time I have a Meniere's attack, the tinnitus becomes permanently louder (not my hearing, that's perfect for now!). It's in both ears (worse in my right) & it sounds like my head is constantly roaring. Life has definitely been difficult & my biggest pet peeve is when people who don't have the condition say "just ignore it" or "yeah I know how you feel." No you most certainly do not!

But that's me & my condition! Hope to talk to you soon :)

• Hug Hug x 7
      • Friendly Friendly x 2
    2. attheedgeofscience
      No Mood

attheedgeofscience Member Podcast Patron Mighty Benefactor Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      Resolved since 2016
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Unknown (medication, head injury)
      It's hard for me to suggest the following as a treatment not proven in a clinical trial in relation to tinnitus, but I thought I would mention cold laser therapy (also known as low-level laser therapy). I, myself, underwent 10 hours of clinic grade therapy and saw a decent boost in my hearing thresholds over a 2-month period:

www.tinnitustalk.com/threads/my-introduction.1862/#post-39035
      www.tinnitustalk.com/threads/my-introduction.1862/