Issue after long earplug use

Discussion in 'Support' started by paatyb3, May 11, 2014.

1. paatyb3

paatyb3 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Hey all,

I have been looking through the forum for a little while now and finally decided to join and post. I have had tinnitus since early january of this year. The furst month was rough but i started learning about it and finally got it to a point where it didnt bother me. All was great until i hit the road 2 days ago.

We took my girlfriends car on a trip to florida . i knew it was bad as far as road noise so i wore plugs for the 12 hour trip. After talking them out last night, i had a weird mettalic type sound with only Certain noises. Is this common after long earplug use?

I used them for the rest of the drive today and took them out for short increments and they are defdinitely a little better.

Any input would be greatly appreciated as i will be heading home in a few days and will need something to protect my ears. Thanks in advance for any and all help.

2. cullenbohannon
      Thinking

cullenbohannon Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      01/2014
      Hey I'm not sure why that happened but I think for most people with t earplugs are not needed for road trips. I go on long drives everyweekend and I keep a pair with me but rarely use them. Also some people think overuse of earplugs can result in hyperacusis so be careful not to over protect.

• Agree Agree x 3
      • Like Like x 1
    3. Johno
      Dreaming

Johno Member

Tinnitus Since:
      6/07/2012
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      acoustic trauma
      When i drive a car, i have to use earplugs, because i am too sensitive to low frequency road noise and my older car has not very quiet interior. After using earplugs is my T is always spiked to higher volume level for around 2-3 hous, then it fade down to standard volume.

• Like Like x 1
    4. AUTHOR
      AUTHOR
      paatyb3

paatyb3 Member

Tinnitus Since: