Letter to the FDA (Dr. Janet Woodcock)

Discussion in 'Awareness & Fundraising' started by FGG, Feb 8, 2020.

1. FGG
      No Mood

FGG Member Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      01/2019
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Multi-factorial
      I had mentioned this in other threads, but I had been working on a letter to Dr. Woodcock of the FDA. Before I sent it to her, however, I was looking for member feedback. I know a few people have expressed interest in helping me with this letter. The mods suggested I put this post in this section and include the letter, so I will include it below.

First draft:

Dear Dr. Woodcock,

Hi. Thank you for your time. I am a former veterinarian who is writing for your help and guidance. About a year ago, I suffered a great loss to my functional hearing instantaneously and bilaterally after an extremely high and prolonged dose of Azithromycin.

While my audiogram only shows a moderately severe to severe loss at 12000 Hz and higher, my hearing is very distorted across all frequencies (even ones in which I have a normal audiogram) in ways that suggest that the audiogram is not detecting all of my cochlear damage. You may already know that audiograms only detect outer hair cell damage and do not detect other cochlear damage such as inner hair cells and synapses.

My hearing loss has resulted in me being unable to localize sound well anymore, unable to watch TV without captions and unable to listen to music at all (something I deeply and passionately loved). My hearing is bad enough where I could not hear well enough in the regular noise of my clinic to continue my job. I also have bilateral tinnitus which is loud enough to distract my concentration and it further adds to my stress/mental state hardship. I lost so much in an instant: the career I dedicated my life to, my husband (who left me for being “inconsolable”), the peace of quiet and music.