Librarian with Tinnitus Seeking Suggestions to Improve Library Services

Discussion in 'Support' started by The Librarian, Sep 18, 2018.

1. The Librarian

The Librarian Member

Tinnitus Since:
      10/2014
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      unknown
      I am a librarian with tinnitus, if you imagine such a miserable thing.

My tinnitus has made my job very trying, however I believe my problems are minor compared to the problems many of us have using libraries.

Even though I suffer from tinnitus, I still evaluate the services we provide from the viewpoint of a library worker and not as a library patron. I am not seeing all the access problems the libraries have created for the tinnitus sufferer.

Are there any services libraries can offer or improve to make it easier for the tinnitus sufferer to use the resources of the library? What are we doing wrong? What are we forgetting?

I am particularly interested in the problems of tinnitus suffering university students as I work at a university. Libraries are the property of the public, so necessary to the health of a democracy, and librarians must do our best to make sure we are serving everyone, especially people with conditions such as ours.

• Friendly Friendly x 1
    2. billie48
      Sunshine

billie48 Member Benefactor Ambassador Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      03/2009
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      not sure