Looking for a Reliable dB Meter (Sound Meter)

Discussion in 'Support' started by Jiri, Dec 20, 2017.

1. Jiri
      No Mood

Jiri Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      11/2017
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      noise + injury
      Hello,

Does anybody know of a reliable dB meter that is not going to cost a fortune? I'm still a postgrad student and part-time job worker so looking for some good quality meter that is not going to be way out of my budget.

For any tips, thank you.

Jiri

2. Kolisar
      No Mood

Kolisar Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      birth?
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      unknown
      • Helpful Helpful x 1
    3. AUTHOR
      AUTHOR
      Jiri
      No Mood

Jiri Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      11/2017
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      noise + injury
      @Kolisar Thank you. That appears to be some good quality info.

I just don't want any unreliable gimmick like the phone apps. Downloaded two of them to my windows phone and each of them gave me 2 different readings.

• Like Like x 1
    4. Kolisar
      No Mood

Kolisar Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      birth?
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      unknown
      @Jiri , you are welcome. As great as it would be to just be able to use an app on a phone, I would find it hard to believe that the phone's microphone is accurate enough for such measurements.

I am glad the info helped. Please let us know which on you settle on and how it works for you.

• Like Like x 1
    5. GregCA
      Jaded

GregCA Member Benefactor Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      03/2016
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Otosclerosis
      What are you planning on using the dB/SPL meter for?

• Like Like x 1
    6. JurgenG
      Approved

JurgenG Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      12/2016
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Loud noise exposure / headphone accident maybe?
      SPLnFFT app is one of the best, and reliable.

7. Alue
      No Mood

Alue Member Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      01/2016