Music Distortion for 4 Months Now Following the COVID-19 Booster Vaccine — Losing Hope

Discussion in 'Support' started by sophia1688, May 24, 2022.

1. sophia1688

sophia1688 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      07/2020
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Unknown
      I got my COVID-19 booster vaccine in January, 2022. 3 weeks later, I developed music distortion. My first 2 vaccines were alright, I had no auditory symptoms at all. My first two jabs were AstraZeneca and the booster was Pfizer (only one available). I work in healthcare so am at a high risk of catching COVID-19, so I decided the lesser of the two evils would be the vaccine (in terms of auditory health)

In my first week of music distortion, I reached out to lots of people who had this sudden onset, not precipitated by any noise trauma as well, they all said theirs went away within 1 month, 3 months, etc. It’s been 4 months for me now. It hasn’t gotten any better, nor has it gotten worse. I didn’t have any noise trauma at all before this, so I don’t understand why it’s stayed so long.

I’ve searched this forum for success stories of music distortion specifically but cannot find many. Only one that gives me hope right now is Jason C who still had distortion at month 5 but eventually completely resolved. Is there anyone out there who has had completely resolution of their music distortion? Past 4 months?

I feel very down, sorry for myself, punished. I’m 22 and can’t even listen to music. I don’t understand why I developed this, and more importantly why it has stayed so long... This is my last resort of hope.

2. Brian Newman

Brian Newman Member Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      12/2016
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Shooting/loud noise