Musicians with Tinnitus Support/Advice Thread

Discussion in 'Support' started by SoulStation, Apr 22, 2014.

1. SoulStation
      No Mood

SoulStation Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Noise / Possible Medication
      Hey Everybody. I've been reading on this site now for about a month and I have learned a great deal and have found some great advice. I can't seem to find a single thread that's dedicated to musicians who have Tinnitus and/or Hyperacusis and choose to continue their careers, dreams and ambitions in this field that we love so much. So I decided to start one.

SO I just want to introduce myself. I am a professional musician/music teacher/producer who has had Tinnitus on and off (depending on the night) since around 2010. I have been totally OCD about protecting my ears since about 2008. I almost never played a loud show or went to a bar with out either musicians plugs (ER-15 or ER-25) or Foam plugs (I am talking like 98% of the time). I teach about 6 days a week (about 2-7 hrs a day) privately/in schools from September-June and run clinics/continue teaching through out the summer just on a slightly less busy schedule.

I play Guitar/Bass/Drums/Keys and sing as well as produce/record in my home studio. Since I graduated from a great music school with a BA in Performance back in 05 I have been going strong just playing and recording as much as possible. I've worked with a lot of singers/bands and put out a record but pride my self on my sideman work. Anyway enough about my resume.