Newcomer Questions (Steroid Shots, Headphone Use, etc.)

Discussion in 'Support' started by sky_high, Aug 26, 2018.

1. sky_high

sky_high Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      08/2018
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      lexapro / stress / unknown
      Hello all,

I am new to tinnitus and also this forum.

Long story short: took 5mg Lexapro for aprox 6 weeks -> 10 mg for about 4 weeks -> tinnitus starts (panic like hell) -> go to ENT (confirms it is most likely from the medication and says let's hope it goes away) -> taper Lexapro for 5 days -> first day off the medication -> tinnitus still present (no surprise here). Long story here

I would have some questions that are more or less specific to my situation, I would really appreciate if someone has time to give some input. Thank you in advance.

1) I've red somewhere (might be this forum or somewhere else, can't really find it right now) that someone who got tinnitus exactly like me, after about a month of Lexapro got some 'steroid shots' at the ENT and that helped a lot and eventually got rid of the ringing in 2 months. The question would be, does anyone know what these steroid shots are, and would it be advised to have them?

2) I find that especially at work, the only thing that keeps me sane are the headphones. I have quality on ear ones and the music volume is very low (3 out of 15). Since I am almost certain my tinnitus was not induced by noise trauma, do you think having the headphones on is a bad idea?

Thank you in advance.

2. JohnAdams
      Festive

JohnAdams Member Benefactor Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      May 1st 2018
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Aspirin Toxicity/Possibly Noise
      Yes, go try the steroids immediately.

I use a little fountain in my office.

• Agree Agree x 1
    3. AUTHOR
      AUTHOR
      sky_high

Tinnitus Since:
      08/2018
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      @JohnAdams not sure what to make of your comment... Just sarcasm because they do not work?

4. JohnAdams