Over 3 Months of Noise and Spasms — TMJ? Stress? Sphenoid Sinusitis?

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by asquared122, Jul 15, 2021.

1. asquared122

asquared122 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      April 2021
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Unknown - TMJ? Stress? Sphenoid Infection?
      Hey everyone. I've come to this forum for support these last three months and I figured it's about time to introduce myself since I don't appear to stop visiting the forum any time soon.

My name is Abby and I am a 20-year-old college student. Everything started in the beginning of April. Thanks to COVID-19 and my immunocompromised roommate, I never left my apartment during my entire year at school and my mental health rapidly declined. By April, My parents were increasingly worried about me and convinced me to come home early. By the time I arrived home, I had already been having panic attacks every few days, and overall feeling very very low. Within a few days of being home, I began to hear a ring in my left ear (4/10 loudness).

Of course, I was already in an anxious state, and this sent me through the roof. I was in a constant fight-or-flight mode, I couldn't eat, and I was crying all the time, I lost 5 pounds in 4 days. It was miserable - I was able to get a prescription of Buspirone from my doctor, but I don't take it. About a week into it I managed to see an ENT, who gave me a hearing test (normal) and told me it was probably TMJ-related, and sent me to physical therapy. The physical therapy didn't seem to have any impact. I also got a nightguard (top and bottom) from my orthodontist, and I can't tell if it's proving useful or not.

It's worth noting that while I've always been a clencher, it was never bothersome or painful. I only started getting a painful/tired jaw and surrounding muscles when I started physical therapy, and now it's an everyday problem. Sort of makes me wish I never tried physical therapy.