Please Help, Tinnitus After Q-Tipping Because of Fullness in Ear

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Deathtotinni, Dec 26, 2017.

1. Deathtotinni

Deathtotinni Member

Tinnitus Since:
      9/10/17
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Qtip and maybe a sound..who knows
      This is my first time post a thread on here but have post a few times on others threads.

A little history about my tinnitus. In September of last year I was in a bad accident and fractured my skull. I was very luck to have not suffered any brain damage but did have a few injuries as one would expect. All of them healed within 3 months...so I thought.

Well other than a fullness and sometimes crackling sound I would hear if someone closed the door in the car to fast or and other sudden loud noise or change in pressure. I ignored it because it honestly wasn’t all that bothersome.

Fast forward to September of this year, I felt a fullness in my ear constantly that would feel a little better if I yawned or lulled on my ear. One day I was working on my Jeep and I thought something something fell in my ear but it was likely just my ear feeling full again.

I used a q-tip to try to clean my ear out and stuck it in pretty deep I suppose. It felt like the fullness got better suddenly which gave my some relief but in the same moment the tinnitus started and hasn’t stopped since. Been to the GP and ENT and they all say no hole in my eardrum and no wax build up. I don’t have any vertigo or anything like that, that I can tell. I don’t understand how I could have tinnitus without a perforation from that dumb q-tip.

I’m worried I have meniere's disease but I just don’t have any vertigo. I have no history of ear problems from when I was a kid and used to have perfect hearing. My hearing hasn’t been great out of that ear since the t started. I can hear out of it for sure but if both ears had this problem I likely would be able to hear people at a distance all too well.

Anyone have any ideas?

2. glynis