Regular Hearing Aids Are Curing My Tinnitus

Discussion in 'Success Stories' started by MeBeSurfer, Dec 13, 2017.

1. MeBeSurfer

MeBeSurfer Member

Tinnitus Since:
      10/17
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      SSRI Medication, Movie Theaters, or Gaming Headphones
      Hey everyone, I'm relatively new to the tinnitus world. I was born with a mild hearing loss in both ears, but never had tinnitus growing up. Fast forward to the ripe age of 35 where I was suffering from extreme anxiety and decided to give the SSRI medication called Celexa a try. Turns out I won the lottery and was part of the 1-3% who got the side effect of tinnitus from it. However, it is true that I can't exactly blame the pills for sure. I had only been on 10 mg for 7 weeks before I heard a slight ringing. My doctor said to stop immediately, which I did, and of course the tinnitus got louder and I ended up with sounds that alternate between a high toned dentist drill and someone letting out air out of a monster sized tire. It is important to note that during this time, I also signed up for Movie Pass and saw a ton of movies in theaters back to back, and also purchased a gaming headset. Each of these events could have caused my tinnitus as well.

Anyway, where is the success you ask? Well, growing up I never wore my regular hearing aids much, because I hated how much they amplify the sounds of everything. Well, I popped them in last week, and I don't hear my tinnitus at all when they are in (only very very faintly when in quiet situations). Better yet, when I take them out, I get an hour of silence as my ears adjust to the fact I just took them out! I realize some people have horrible tinnitus and the hearing aids don't even help some folks, for that I'm sorry to hear that. Just wanted to share a little trick I found with the community for anyone that might have similar tinnitus as me. I rate it a 6/10 in loudness, which becomes a 2/10 with hearing aids and a 1/10 after pulling them out for an hour.