Should I Quit My Part-Time Job?

Discussion in 'Support' started by Konrad Gorski, May 12, 2015.

1. Konrad Gorski
      Worried

Konrad Gorski Member

Tinnitus Since:
      August 2014
      Hello,

I am a university student who works at a fast food restaurant to make ends meet, every time I come home my tinnitus spikes for a several hours and then returns back to normal. I questioned my audiologist about this and he said that it is fine because the volume present in my workplace is not loud enough to damage my ears. I would like to hear the opinions of others who actually have this condition. Any information would be greatly appreciated.

Sincerely,

Konrad Gorski

2. Nucleo

Nucleo Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      02/2011
      Have you actually measured your workplace sound levels? What are they?

3. AUTHOR
      AUTHOR
      Konrad Gorski
      Worried

Konrad Gorski Member

Tinnitus Since:
      August 2014
      Using a smartphone only, it reads from 60-70 decibels

4. Geo

Geo Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      11/2012
      Never listen to the docs.. They told me i was fine to do my job even tho i would complain about pain and sensitivity i worked as a meter reader, barking dogs everyday.. They said its fine but i was just damaging my ear to everything i was exposing it to even tho i somewhat knew it ..was my job but it was my moneymaker and good paying at that but my T and H got so bad i took a leave of absence and left and regreted not quiting earlier.. What im trying to say is doctors really dont know your tollerance only u do . So if ur ears hurt listen to them dont ignore them like i did.. Especially if theyre spiking on you everyday its a bad sign. Your ears are telling you their hurting and you might have reactive t like i do noises will crank up ur t not saying you do but might..

• Agree Agree x 2
    5. Karl28
      No Mood

Karl28 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      2001 bad since 2015
      Cause of Tinnitus: