Some Venting: My Own Mother Did This to Me — Tinnitus from Using Headphones Excessively

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Guilty, Jul 22, 2022.

1. Guilty

Guilty Member

Tinnitus Since:
      03/2022
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Hearing Loss (noticed when I got an ear infection)
      Hi all,

I've had tinnitus for a few months now and been struggling through trying to continue living my life. Outside of the tinnitus I'm a Silicon Design Engineer and teach lifeguards, as well as kid swim classes as a volunteer every summer.

I had a rough day today with tinnitus and family issues and was compelled to write, to vent about my situation and the almost comically tragic nature of how it came to be.

VENT

1. I never listened to music until the year of my final exams.
      2. My mother is incredibly loud and distracting (TV, shouting, bipolar rage etc.) during all waking hours.
      3. When trying to study, requesting my mother to be quiet would result in her flying into a rage.
      4. I figured out that if I wear headphones and play loud music, I can't hear her and can, finally, for the first time in my life, concentrate.
      5. This went on for almost 5 years (final exam and all throughout grad school). I never stopped asking her to be quiet, hopeful that I could study without needing headphones and music, but she never, ever done the bare minimum required of her, i.e. be reasonably quiet while I was studying.
      6. Now I have debilitating tinnitus.

My own mother did this to me.

She routinely speaks of how much she believes she does for us. Nothing she has done, or ever could do, could be enough to compensate me for the horrible things she has inflicted upon me.

The tinnitus is just the final, cruel, suicide inducing, slap in the face.

I hope everyone is doing ok today. It's a battle lads.

• Hug Hug x 9
      • Like Like x 1
    2. Lurius
      Sad

Lurius Member Benefactor Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      September 2018