Speed Up Your Habituation

Discussion in 'Support' started by I who love music, Apr 17, 2014.

1. I who love music
      Cheerful

I who love music Member

Tinnitus Since:
      mid seventies
      Here's a method I've been using since the 70's to knock my T down a notch when it flares up. I figured this out when I was a teenager. I'm 55 and it still works for me.

When my T gets annoying, I stuff cotton in my ears for about 2 weeks. During this time 3 things are obviously happening -

1. I'm straining to hear. I think this is good. I used to do an exercise when I'd sit in a quiet room and "Listen" for the quiet 'beyond' the T. It helped, but it bored me. I'm a hyper person.

2. The T is more obvious. Of course it is, I'm shutting out most of the outside sound. And now I believe I'm putting the pressure on my brain to habituate faster. Maybe. I'm not a doctor.

3. My ears are 'healing' from whatever sound blast ignited my T. My spikes are always damaged hair cells from something loud.

I don't know why this works, but after a couple weeks, just when I notice the T is somewhat lower, I pull the cotton out and environmental sounds normal, and the T seems to be gone (or way down) then I go for months okay, til I get a blast. Long ago I discovered this 'trick.' Works for me.

In fact I have cotton in today because a few days ago I was too close to the backdoor of a van when it slammed shut.

• Like Like x 3
    2. Sound Wave
      Curious

Sound Wave Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      12/2013
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Probably headphones
      Thanks for sharing! Allowing your ears to rest does make sense. What if you don't use cotton - does your T still go down at all, or does it take a longer time? Why do you use cotton instead of quality musician ear plugs etc? I am guessing cotton is more comfortable?

3. Grace
      No Mood

Grace Member

Tinnitus Since:
      11/14/2013
      This is a good idea. The whole