Strange Phenomenon: Tinnitus Gets Stronger at Work

Discussion in 'Support' started by Xynic, Sep 7, 2015.

1. Xynic

Xynic Member

Tinnitus Since:
      06/2015
      Just an observation I wanted to share. In the past couple of weeks, my T has gotten quite intensive, weirdly enough it gets intensive at work. I know that now because this weekend it was almost gone, and now it's roaring again! The weird thing is my work is quiet and largely stress-free. I work as a programmer, but I don't necessarily have a whole load of pressure on me. I also tend to spend quite a lot of time sitting down in front of the computer when I'm home, so it's not my posture, either. It's crazy - I'm almost beginning to think it's something in the office!

Did anyone else experience this sort of craziness?

2. glynis
      Feminine

glynis Member Benefactor Ambassador Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Meniere's Disease
      Xynic,
      For some people computers can cause tinnitus.
      EMR from computers can worsen tinnitus for some people so keep a check on computer usage.lots of love glynis

3. AUTHOR
      AUTHOR
      Xynic

Xynic Member

Tinnitus Since:
      06/2015
      Very interesting. I have my laptop on at home at all times, but maybe it's the external screens I use at work, or one of the other computers. I'll try to work from home for a little while and see how that develops.

• Like Like x 1
    4. Dawn Whinetaker

Dawn Whinetaker Member

Tinnitus Since:
      07/2013
      I mean, it's really a hypothetical throw here- but are there a lot of wireless signals in your office? Wifi, laptop connections, Bluetooth connections, phones, etc.? Just a weird thought, but maybe all of those 'unseen' waves could worsen our hearing? I read a study about the affects of it somewhere, a long time ago- but I can't find it now. The scientist was studying that particular hypothesis. It'd be interesting to see what the results were...

5. linearb
      Psychedelic