Sudden Hearing Loss with Tinnitus

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by JohnFox, Mar 12, 2019.

1. JohnFox

JohnFox Member

Tinnitus Since:
      02/2019
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Unknown. Sudden loss of 100% hearing R ear with Tinnitus
      Hello out there, I am new to this (unfortunately). My story goes as follows. I am a very healthy 65 year old, with virtually no health problems until now. I don't take any medications for anything, I don't smoke, don't drink very much, have healthy blood pressure, etc;,..etc;.

Almost two weeks ago on February 25 of 2019 I went to bed feeling quite normal and went to sleep. My ears were fine. I woke up just past midnight with a horrible noise in my right ear (popping, crackling, hissing, and ringing.) I also realized that I had now could not hear anything from my right ear. I was completely deaf on the right side. I also had mild vertigo. I got up and thought I could just walk it off. I sat up for about 4 hours and things settled down just a little bit but now I am left with intense tinnitus and total hearing loss in right ear. Obviously my kind of tinnitus/hearing loss was not caused by a lot of loud noise. It was overnight sudden with no apparent reason. I went right into see a ear/nose/throat doctor. I described what happened and he nodded as I talked and basically said "yep, we see this once in a while. We're not sure what the cause is. We generally prescribe a oral steroid regime that lasts about three weeks. Some people get relief, and some don't." Anyway, I am about half way thru the steroids with no change and am now trying to get my mind wrapped around this calamity. As you all know, there is no escape. It is with you everywhere. If I had to chose between a cure for the total hearing loss, or the tinnitus, I would choose to remain half deaf and cure the tinnitus.