The Ups and Downs of Tinnitus. Am I Dealing With It Okay?

Discussion in 'Support' started by AlecP, Feb 6, 2015.

1. AlecP
      Procrastinating

AlecP Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      07/2014
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Acoustic Trauma (I think)
      Hi everyone - I feel like this is going to be a long first post, so if you take the time to read my story then I greatly appreciate it.

So I've been loitering in the background of this site off and on for the last 6 months or so ever since I started this life changing experience (for the worst as I'm sure all of you feel too). Anyway as a back story on me, I've had a long history of subjecting my ears to loud noises. Ever since I was 8 or 9 I started playing in brass and wind bands and from the age of 15-16 started using headphones and headsets for music and gaming etc. I realise now that the long sessions of gaming and music were probably too much for my ears and over time they were weakening and weakening until one day in July 2014 my life flipped upside down. As a 20 year old with my whole life ahead of me (hopefully haha) I despaired and freaked the f*ck out for the first 6 weeks before settling down into constantly feeling on edge about my tinnitus. My co-workers and friends at my Summer job could see that I was a different person and not as jovial or outgoing as I was before. Indeed I retreated into a dark place where I never thought I would be happy again. I never thought about killing myself, but I did wonder whether death was preferable to a life of listening to these bloody noises. I went to the doctor who said it would go in a couple of weeks and then got a free Boots hearing test where the audiologist said the same thing. My hearing is fine though, maybe a very slight drop off at high frequencies but certainly nothing to be concerned about at the moment.