Tinnitus... Confused

Discussion in 'Support' started by Alex2018, Dec 14, 2017.

1. Alex2018

Alex2018 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      02/2015
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Earwax build up
      Hi everyone,

I’ve never written on a forum about this before but I’m here posting for my OH who has had Tinnitus for the last few years and I’m trying to work out what the cause is so I can investigate further.

Basically a few years ago she got a large amount of impacted ear wax build up in her ear. Whilst she was waiting for the appointment to clean her ears the build up got worse and she developed Tinnitus. My assumption was that once the ears were cleaned the ringing would go away but this didn’t happen. Anyway she has adjusted to it and uses white noise at night to sleep and the ringing continues.

Last night she woke up in the night completely deaf in one ear and this morning went to the doctors who said her ear was deeply impacted with wax. They said they’d never seen so much. Now bizarrely the Tinnitus in that ear has pretty much completely gone and she can barely hear it. This is what I’m confused about as I would assume the blocked ear would increase the ringing in her ear not deaden it.

Does this make sense to any of you and have you experienced this yourself? I’m convinced that the Tinnitus is related to wax but she’s had several cleaning sessions with the ENT and none have stopped the ringing.

I’m just curious if anyone could shed a light on this. She also gets pulsatile Tinnitus but this may be due to something else so I’m really asking as to why the ear wax would make the Tinnitus quieter rather than louder. I expect when she has her ears cleaned it will come fully back.

• Good Question Good Question x 1
    2. AUTHOR
      AUTHOR
      Alex2018

Alex2018 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      02/2015
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Earwax build up
      Nobody?

3. glynis
      Feminine

glynis Member Benefactor Ambassador Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since: