Tinnitus from Biaxin (Antibiotic)

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Johnny Naro, Mar 22, 2017.

1. Johnny Naro

Johnny Naro Member

Tinnitus Since:
      March 7th
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Antibiotic Biaxin side effect
      Hey everyone,

This is my first post here and hoping to get some help.

I've had tinnitus now for 2 weeks after taking Biaxin for a sinus Infection. At times I've felt like I wanted to kill myself.

It is so difficult to sleep and when I wake up in the middle of the night, it's even harder to fall asleep. Apparently a side effect of Biaxin is tinnitus. It could be temporary or permanent.

My Mom and brother both suffer from it. I'm 26 and feel like my life is over and have nothing to live for and just going through the motions of life. I'm so stressed, no drive and I'm a musician so tinnitus is the wrong thing to have. I'm hoping that the tinnitus will go down after the drug wears off.

I got the t a week into my antibiotic. I finished the prescription a week afte that and have been off the drug for a week and still have the ringing.

Never take Biaxin or anything ending in mycin because its damaging to your ears. Please someone respond to me and tell me everything's gonna be okay. I'm so scared, praying to god every night to make it go away and I'm sure my girlfriend is sick of hearing about my t.

I'm crying almost every day and I just want it to go away thanks everyone for listening.

2. LukeYoung
      Frantic

LukeYoung Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      06/2016
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      A loud Concert - Noise Exposure
      The thing with drug is induced Tinnitus is that it may very well go away have you finish your course and it goes out of your system, or it could stay, but just know if it is permanent we will be here to give advice!

In the mean time try masking with nature sounds.

rain is good white noise for me!

Hope it gets better soon.

3. AUTHOR
      AUTHOR
      Johnny Naro

Johnny Naro Member