Tinnitus from Injection Site Trauma Prior to Dental Procedure? Tight Muscles/TMD?

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Llama Bunz, Jan 30, 2022.

1. Llama Bunz

Llama Bunz Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Unknown
      Hi everyone, I am new to Tinnitus Talk as well as to tinnitus. To be honest I so not even know where to begin. I have health anxiety, so I tend to jump to the worst case scenario in my mind all the time. Tinnitus though is new to me so I don't really have prior experiences to use as ways to calm myself down. I went in to see the doctor and he prescribed me some medication to help with panic attacks. He told me it was possibly just from tight muscles/TMD and that it could clear up, especially since it has only been around for 6-7 days.

I had a dentist appointment as well, even though it wasn't specifically for this issue. I did bring it up though since I was already there. At examining me, he said he was pretty sure it was due to some trauma to the area where I received an injection prior to a dental procedure a few weeks back. That and the bad habit of chewing on tooth picks with my front teeth. He prescribed me some muscle relaxants (10 days worth), and told me he was pretty sure it would go away soon. He said just to make sure to stretch my jaw, relax, and take the medication at night.

Do forgive me if my post seems like a bunch of rambling, I suppose I am just panicking about all this. I hear an 'eeee' sound constantly, and sometimes it switches ears. It will stop for a few seconds, come back stronger, then go down again, and repeat. It feels like any electrical appliance has an extra buzzing sound to it. Like... I am a bit more hyper sensitive to sound. As I said, it is all very new to me so it is sort of scary.

At first it was a constant single tone, but now it fluctuates. It's like:

'EEeeee__EEeeeE___eeeeeeee'.

Not going to lie, it is driving me crazy.

• Hug Hug x 1
    2. billie48
      Sunshine