Tinnitus from Microsuction/Stress -> Any Opinion/Help Would Be Greatly Appreciated

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by DevHitByTinnitus, Jan 7, 2020.

1. DevHitByTinnitus

DevHitByTinnitus Member

Tinnitus Since:
      05/2019
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Microsuction/Stress
      Hello,

I am a 26 year old programmer from Eastern Europe. Last year around May, I had my left ear completely blocked by wax due to sleeping with ear buds.

I went to a stupid young ENT who did microsuction on my left ear without using any softener for the wax, and it was really painful, she said the wax was too close to the eardrum and she can't remove it (it all took around 30-40 seconds). I had used myself some softener for 2-3 days beforehand. Afterwards I tried a spray she suggested A-Cerumen which lead to some kind of Eustachian Tube Dysfunction symptoms like sounds of crackling when I yawned, etc. but no tinnitus.

3-4 days passed and I made an appointment to another ENT, a more senior one. The night before I was stressed about it and heard for the first time what was going to become my 7 months torment, a hissing sound in both ears. I went to the ENT the next day and she put oxigenated water and cleared my wax. From that point on, I still herd the ETD crackling for a week, but no tinnitus. After a week, tinnitus came back as hissing, and as my anxiety grew turned into sharp electrical ringing, varying, etc.

From that point on for 7 months I've had permanent tinnitus, that kind of sometimes gets down to a soft hiss in the morning after a good sleep. I kind of think it is a bit anxiety related as in if I take something to calm my anxiety it goes down a bit. It is also exacerbated by travelling by train, plane, staying to much in silence, in places where I can listen to it very clearly.