Tinnitus Got Worse and I Can't Sleep

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by greeterdan, May 31, 2015.

1. greeterdan

greeterdan Member

Tinnitus Since:
      02/2014
      Hello, fellow travelers,

My name is Daniel. Quick introduction: In February, 2014, I suddenly developed symptoms of what was diagnosed by my ENT as cochlear hydrops. The main symptom was, of course, tinnitus.

Although there were a few days early on where it was really troublesome, I mostly managed fine, and slept okay.

But about a month ago, it suddenly went up in volume by about two notches, and now I'm having a really hard time sleeping.

Long story short, I've tried many of the things my doctors and friends have suggested: exercise, warm milk before bed, cutting out caffeine (altogether), and so on. But the only thing that has worked reliably is ambien.

I know this is not good. I know I don't want to be dependent. But I'm a professional and I have to sleep.

But a few nights ago, I realized the ambien wasn't really working anymore. So now I'm facing a situation where I don't know that I can count on anything to sleep. I'm about to try trazidone, because one doctor recommended it. But I don't put a lot of faith in it.

My wife and I just (today) rearranged our house so our bedroom is no longer facing the street, which I hope will help in the mornings when traffic outside gets loud. That was a bit of a problem. I'm hoping that will help.

I'm here because I'm hoping people in this community have suggestions based on experience about how to sleep with this condition. I'm realizing that this is a large community (10-15% of people have tinnitus is the stat I've heard). And so it's comforting that I'm not alone.

I'd love any thoughts people have on how to return to a place where I can expect to sleep. I know the tinnitus may not go away, but there has to be a way to get rest. I really welcome your thoughts.

Thank you,
      Daniel (greeterdan)

2. shantelle

shantelle Member