Tinnitus in One Ear — ETD? — Need Help

Discussion in 'Support' started by om1, Sep 6, 2019.

1. om1

om1 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Jan 19
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Reflux, antibiotics ppi combo for reflux?
      Newbie here, another person whose life has changed a bit from tinnitus.
      Some details. I was suffering with stomach pain especially when I ate too much tomatoes pasta etc.

So I went to GP here in Australia, he booked for a Urea breath test, they found H Pylori bacteria infection. And all symptoms of ulcers, endoscopy confirmed it that I have ulcers and erosive antral gastritis.

So they put me on a triple therapy in Mid of Jan 2019 of esomeprazole, amoxicillin and clarithromycin, so this is basically 3 tablets in the morning and evening so 6 in a day for 7 days. Too much antibiotics for my liking. But I was scared of the cancer causing bacteria so I took it and 2-3 days into taking it I started feeling reflux into my throat while sleeping. It was the most horrible taste of bitterness at the back of my throat. It gave me throat irritation some cough and enamel erosion a bit., Also when I woke up one morning (2-3 days after starting course) when mild ringing/hissing in my ears.

So I really don't know if reflux caused it if stomach acid get into inner ear through the round or oval window if the acid goes into Eustachian tube especially since I have the LaryngoPharyngalReflux type or LPR.

Or the antibiotics and the PPIs I took for a few weeks after stopping antibiotics after 4 days caused it?