Tinnitus is Awesome...!

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by TwilightTinnitus, Jun 15, 2017.

1. TwilightTinnitus

TwilightTinnitus Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Feb 26, 2017
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Loud Noise. Editing sound fx. Guns, swords, explos, etc
      ... Said no one, ever.

Hi everyone,

I'm Angelo

I am a sound designer, musician, composer, sound fx editor. You can see a pattern here.

Everything I do involves sounds.

I've been doing all things sound related for over 20 years now. Now at the young and tender age of 45 ( I'm being sarcastic, of course), I have developed some form of Tinnitus or Noise Induced Hearing Loss, as my unhelpful ENT and physician have informed me.

Briefly, around the end of Feb, I was working on the final episode of a soon to be cancelled TV show. As all big finales go, this one spared no expense. It involved an Apocalyptic battle involving machine guns, swords, horses, flame-throwers, fights, bodyfalls, explosions, ... you get the picture.

I have a tendency to monitor my work fairly loud and this time was no exception. I edited for hours putting this episode together.

The next morning, I woke up, went to use the bathroom and while urinating, I noticed a weird distortion accompanying the sound of my pee going into the toilet.

I was shocked. I freaked out. What the hell!? In a weird intuitive way, I kind of knew what it was and that I was screwed.

As most of us I'm sure, I panicked. Basically what is going on with me is that I hear a ringing, distortion, buzzing, rattling, resonating sound in my head/ear only when I hear sounds.

So, I don't have the traditional tinnitus described as a constant ringing.

My ringing is when I'm talking or someone else is talking. Even worse, when I hear music, strings, piano, what ever.. there it is. AND it's AS LOUD as what ever I'm listening to.