Tinnitus Started Last August / Brain Hemorrhage Survivor

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by exguitar, Nov 26, 2019.

1. exguitar
      Depressed

exguitar Member

Tinnitus Since:
      09/2019
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Unknown
      My name is Matt – I’m about 50. My tinnitus started last August and in late September became continuous in both ears. I have had a rough year to say the least.

Last March, I had a brain hemorrhage and stroke. The brain hemorrhage was surgically repaired with a stent. At the time I weighed about 240 and have lost about 100 pounds down to 145 since then. I did not have tinnitus right after the stroke. I was a musician for years, played guitar in a band, and did not wear ear plugs usually. However, about a month ago I did have an ENT test my hearing and I do have some hearing loss in the high ranges, but not enough to cause tinnitus he said.

Here are some possible reasons: I was on a host of medications after the stroke many of which could be ototoxic. I began having the tinnitus after I decided to withdraw from Klonopin which I had taken at 1mg per day for around 3.5 months. I “jumped off” at .5 mg a day which was probably a mistake. The tinnitus began, very loudly, about week 2 of this withdrawal, and I did have pretty bad withdrawal symptoms.

I withdrew because over the summer I developed severe nose bleeds from blood thinners along with psoriasis and inflammation inside my nose and on my face, and probably in my ears. I do have psoriasis in my outer ear canal and also have psoriatic arthritis. I take Otezla for it. I also have severe allergies and cannot take medication because it dries out my nose severely (a dose of Allegra severely damaged my nose and flared the psoriasis), and I have a lesion in my nostril so I cant use Flonase etc.