Tips That Work for Me

Discussion in 'Support' started by DebInAustralia, Jan 16, 2016.

1. DebInAustralia
      No Mood

DebInAustralia Member Benefactor Hall of Fame Advocate

Tinnitus Since:
      12/2013
      I have experienced tinnitus and hyperacusis for just over 2 years now following an ear infection and treatment with a fluoroquinolone antibiotic.

Like most of you in the beginning, I suffered with the usual flight or fright response. Some days, I was too panic stricken to get out of bed. I really thought my life was over. I couldn't concentrate at work, or feel that i could enjoy my social activities etc...

I wouldn't say I am habituated, but I have come a long way since my onset. My tinnitus probably hasn't changed. But, my emotional response to the noise is changing.........

I read the back to silence thread. It resonated with me. I started practicing the technique, and noticed within days, my anxiety started to abate. (ive always been a worrier and have ocd). After a few short weeks, I then noticed that i was having less responses to the noise, and then moments of 'silence' as Terry describes in his thread. For the first time since experiencing tinnitus, i felt a glimmer of hope. I felt like a weight had lifted off...

Ive kept at the technique. some days are better than others. i try to avoid measuring the quality of my days by my noise; instead, i focus only on my reactions. it works!

sleep is paramount. so i get lots of it......

modified ketogenic diet with intermittent periods of fasting........

stay away from the negative....so ive looked at my life, and decided those things that need to go ie toxic relationships, unhealthy habits/mind set etc..............

i take advantage of residual inhibition.....fortunately for me, when i need to, i can mask with high frequency white noise which temporarily suppresses some of my hissing noise........