Two Weeks In... Tinnitus, Hyperacusis and Ear Pain. 4 Kids. My Story.

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by dscottc, Oct 21, 2016.

1. dscottc

dscottc Member

Tinnitus Since:
      10/2016
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Loud Noise Exposure
      I am new to this. Two weeks ago today I went shooting with a friend. I always wear ear protection, well this time I could not find it in my bag. My friend who was with me said he never wears hearing protection. Though that was crazy but decided I'd shoot without it. I shot a few and had some ringing. After a few seconds it went away, so I continued to shoot about 20 rounds of .223. After I noticed a more sever ringing and very heightened sensitivity to sound. Everything was muffled.

After about 12 hours some of the extreme sensitivity went away ringing went down a bit. All of this is in my right ear.

Well three days of ringing I called for an appointment with ENT. He put me on prednisone and lipo-flavonoid. I have slight hearing loss in upper ranges, but nothing too significant. After now a week of the steroid I asked to wean off it because of the depression it was giving me. I have also started using oils that friends of mine suggested.

I can handle the T and have accepted it. The over sensitivity however is killing me. I lead worship at my church. Wearing an ear plug barely helps and causes me pain because my own voice especially in the higher range sets me off. I also have four kids under the age of 8. So loudness is constant.

I have a couple questions....

Some have said don't limit noises all together with ear plugs. Why?

When I am experiencing H does that mean I am hurting my ear more? Some of the sounds are not avoidable.

I also have what seems to feel like a lump in my throat after H on the right side and my ear constantly feels funny, plugged, painful feeling.